Why literacy rate in Bihar is low after 65 years of independence

Share the joy

Why Bihar’s literacy rate is low in India? Isn’t it because of the level of education of political candidates and state level ministers?

Indian literacy rate

Indian Constitution

Neither the Indian Constitution nor the Representation of the People Act has any mention of educational criteria for the candidates contesting elections. One of the reasons why the Constitution-makers didn’t specify any minimum educational qualification could be the fact that India’s literacy rate was only 12 percent at the time of independence. In such circumstances, demanding a minimum academic qualification would have deprived many able leaders from joining politics.

Feelings of Indian electorates

Having said all these, there’s a growing feeling among the electorates that aspiring politicians contesting elections should have a minimum qualification to be able to put forward his/her views effectively and contribute to the policy formulation and implementation processes. To have a clear understanding of the functioning of democracies, constitutional provisions and role of bureaucracy, it always helps to have a certain level of literacy among the candidates.

However, in India, importance is given more to the maturity and efficiency of the elected representatives, and not the institutional education that they are deprived of.

What is leadership?


  1. Leadership is not a title, it is an ability. This fact is often neglected.
  2. Leadership cannot exist as a single entity; it requires a team. Without a team, a leader’s role is useless. The team is created by controlling literacy, dependency, and restricting thought process.
  3. Leadership is a role of service, not the entitlement. There is a tendency to hand over political legacy to the next generation overlooking the fact that they are capable of it or not.
  4. Leadership is a strategy role that requires great communication, delivers successfully and promotes trust. The grass-root level corruption creates fear and blind trust among the electorates.
  5. Leadership requires movement in 2 directions. Forward to lead with confidence and to the side as a mentor. If the leader does not have the basic education to understand and solve the problem, it effects the economic progress. The leader requires mentoring, but he cannot mentor himself.

After 65 years of independence, it is surprised that political leader Lalu Prasad Yadav in Bihar could not give education to or persuade his children for taking education, who are important portfolio ministers with education qualification of 9th and 12th grade. This shows that lack of foresight of political leaders for the progress. It is one of the prominent reason why after 65 years of independence Bihar is behind in education and poverty elimination.

Below is the complete list of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar Cabinet ministers with portfolio and education:

Nitish Kumar: Home , General Administration, Information & Public Communication : Graduate

1. Tejaswi Yadav (Won from Raghopur ) – Road Construction, Building Constructions & Backward Class Development : 9th
2. Tej Pratap (Won from Mahua ) – Health, Forest and Environment, Backward & Extremely Backward Class Welfare Ministry : 12th
3. Vijay Prakash ( Won from Jamui)- Labour Resources : Post Graduate
4.  Anita Devi (Won from Nokha)- Tourism : Graduate Professional
5. Muneshwar Chaudhary ( Won from Garkha)- Mining : Graduate Professional
6. Chandrasekhar– Disaster Management : Post Graduate
7. Dr. Abdul Ghafoor (Won from Mahisi)- Minority Development : Doctorate
8. Shiv Chandra Ram : Graduate
9. Ramvichar Rai (Won from Sahebganj)- Agriculture : 10th
10. Chandrika Rai (Won from Parsa)- Transport : Postgraduate
11. Alok Kumar Mehta ( Won from Ujiarpur) : Graduate Professional
12. Abdul Bari Siddiqui (Won from Alinagar)- Finance Ministry : 12th
13. Kapildev Kamat– Panchayti Raj : 8th
14. Madan Sahni ( Won from Gaura Buram)- Food and Civil Supplies : Graduate
15. Khurshid Urf Firoz Ahmad ( Won from Sikta)- Sugar Cane Industry : 10th
16. Santosh Kumar Nirala ( Won from Rajpur)- SC/ST Development : Graduate Professional
17. Kumari Manju Verma (Won from Cheria Bariarpur)- Social Welfare : 12th
18. Shailesh Kumar ( Won from Jamalpur) : Post Graduate
19. Maheshwar Hazari Urban development : Graduate
20. Krishna Nandan Prasad Verma ( Won from Ghosi)- PHED & Law : Graduate
21. Jay Kumar Singh (Won from Dinara)- Industry, Science & Technology : Graduate
22. Shrawan Kumar (Won from Nalanda) : 12th
23. Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh (MLC)- Water Resource : Graduate
24. Bijendra Prasad Yadav (Won from Supaul)- Power : 10th 
25. Madan Mohan Jha Revenue and Land Reforms : Doctorate
26. Abdul Jalil Mastan( Won from Amour) : 12th
27. Awdhesh Kumar Singh (won from Wazirganj)- Animal and Fishery Development : Graduate
28. Ashok Choudhary (MLC)- Education & IT : Doctorate

Vijaya Sawant

Vijaya Sawant is an exceptional project management professional with a unique blend of business, project management and technology skills. She has more than 25 years of latest technology implementation experience in both matrix and projectile environment. She has a first-rate track record of successfully spearheading and delivering a broad range of high impact, high profile projects, including leadership of multi-national, multi-vendor teams. She has demonstrated ability to bring about positive change through crafting relationships with multi stakeholder groups and service delivery groups, understanding business needs and proposing and delivering viable technology solutions.

Posted in Leadership Tagged with: , ,

Your donation will help us to promote sustainable change in social behaviour

Online Directory of Ethiopia http://www.tigraionline.com

Subscribe our YouTube channel


Follow us on Google+

Follow us on Pinterest

Subscribe to Newsletter

A beautiful mind Dr John Nash